2013 Plot Awards

Post date: Aug 17, 2013 9:22:49 PM

On 12th July, we held our annual BBQ and presentation evening.

The weather was superb and there was a great turnout of members, well over 60 plot holders and family attended.

Many thanks must go to Roger and Heather for organising the food & drink, to Phil for the wine and Tim and Paul for cooking the BBQ!

Also, many thanks to the Folk festival Committee who allowed us the use of their Marquee and those of you who helped put it together and clear up afterwards.

Our Chairman, Colin, was unable to attend due to being on holiday in Halki, so the honours of presenting the awards was left to Roger.

Maurice Rust from Frosts, was again invited to judge the plots, which was done on 28th June. All 156 plots were judged and graded on six criteria. It was close at the top, but we had our four winners after a lengthy review. All plot holders were commended for the effort and hard work that has clearly been put into their plots.

The Awards

We actually had joint winners of the Best Plot award, the "Pakes Garden Trophy", albeit to the husband and wife team, Tony and Carol Gale on plots A132/133.Their plots were judged weed free, full selection of vegetables, fruit and flowers, good pest protection against rabbits and pigeons, sheds with water butts and a bee hive perched atop one of the sheds.

The second place shield was awarded to plot A36, Mr Roger Sims. Again, well laid out and a good selection of strong good looking vegetables and weed free.

The shield for the third placed plot went to Mrs B. Parish on plot A125. A nicely presented and well laid out plot, with plenty of pest protection and good looking vegetables.

The "Peter Leadbetter Shield" for best newcomer was given to Mr Abdul Gofur from plot A94. Despite being overgrown, in a short time with plenty of help, Abdul has managed to get a selection of interesting crops, unusual to see in this country. It will be interesting to see how these mature.

Congratulations to all our winners and once again thanks to Maurice for taking the time to judge the plots and attend the evening to award our prizes.